HomeEducation Standards and Requirements Digital Health Competencies

Digital Health Competency

NMBI has published Digital Health Competency Standards and Requirements for Undergraduate Nursing and Midwifery Education Programmes (First Edition). 

Digital health is defined as the use of information and communication technologies to improve health, healthcare services and facilitate wellness.

The purpose of this document is to provide guidance to education bodies and practice partners on digital health competencies for nursing and midwifery undergraduate education programmes that are flexible, innovative and practice oriented.

The standards and requirements are set out under 5 domains:

  • Domain 1 – Digital Professionalism
  • Domain 2 – Leadership and Advocacy
  • Domain 3 – Data and Information Quality
  • Domain 4 – Information-enabled Care
  • Domain 5 – Technology

Download Image

Digital Health Competency

.pdf Download (524KB)


Subscribe to our eZine

Receive our monthly newsletter with news and other content relevant to the Irish nursing and midwifery professions.