What we do

HomeWhat We Do Governance Board Committees Fitness to Practise Committee (2011)
View Menu
Close Menu
HomeWhat We Do Governance Board Committees Fitness to Practise Committee (2011)

Fitness to Practise Committee (2011) considers complaints referred by the PPC

The Fitness to Practise Committee (FPC) is a statutory committee of the Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI), established under the Nurses and Midwives Act 2011. This committee considers complaints which are referred to it by the Preliminary Proceedings Committee (PPC).

According to the Act, the FPC must be comprised as follows:

  • At least one third of the FPC members must be members of the Board.
  • The chairperson must be a member of the Board.
  • The majority of the FPC members may not be or may not have been registered nurses or midwives in this State or any other jurisdiction.

The FPC (Nurses and Midwives Act 2011) consists of 33 members, of whom 11 are Board members and 22 are not. They are as follows:

Board members

  • Denise Lawler (midwife)
  • Marian Vaughan (nurse)
  • Mark Blake-Knox (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Conan McKenna (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Liam Hamill (nurse)
  • Louise Kavanagh McBride (nurse)
  • Eileen Kelly (nurse)
  • Anne Marie Duffy (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Colm O'Herlihy (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Catherine Cocoman (nurse)

Non-Board members

  • Valerie Beatty (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Ada Bradbury (non-nurse midwife)
  • James Buckley (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Triona Cowman (midwife)
  • Eileen Flynn (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Juliana Henry (midwife)
  • Dermott Jewell (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Kathryn Muldoon (midwife)
  • Margaret Philbin (midwife)
  • Des O'Neill (nurse)
  • Caroline Gourley (nurse)
  • Denis Hamill (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Caroline Murphy (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Jim Kitson (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Gertie Taggart (non-nurse/midwife)
  • John O'Mullane (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Greg Price (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Aideen Neylon (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Frankie Watters (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Miriam O'Callaghan (non-nurse/midwife)
  • Helen Murphy (midwife)
  • Barbara Stuart (non-nurse/midwife)

Subscribe to our eZine

Receive our monthly newsletter with news and other content relevant to the Irish nursing and midwifery professions.