HomeRegistration The Register and Divisions
View Menu
Close Menu
HomeRegistration The Register and Divisions

The Register of Nurses and Midwives and its 10 divisions

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI) maintains the Register of Nurses and Midwives in Ireland. It is illegal to practise as a nurse or a midwife if you are not on the Register.
The Register contains ten divisions. In Ireland, you can use the designated (abbreviated) letters below, if you are registered with NMBI in the corresponding division of the Register
The divisions marked with an asterix ( * ) in the table have different, specific requirements for registration.

Division Designation Titles Abbreviation
General General Nursing

Registered General Nurse
Midwives Midwife

Registered Midwife
Children's Children's Nurse

Registered Children's Nurse
Psychiatric Psychiatric Nurse

Registered Psychiatric Nurse
Intellectual Disability Intellectual Disability Nurse

Registered Nurse Intellectual Disability
Public Health Public Health Nurse

Registered Public Health Nurse
Nurse Tutor Nurse Tutor

Registered Nurse Tutor
Nurse Prescribers* Nurse Presciber

Registered Nurse Prescriber
Advanced Nurse Practitioners* Advanced Nurse Practitioner

Registered Advanced Nurse Practitioners
Advanced Midwife Practitioners* Advanced Midwife Practitioner

Registered Advanced Midwife Practitioner

Checking or updating your data 

If you are a registered nurse or registered midwife, you can view your entry in our Check the Register section.

You can  update the data that NMBI has on its registration system by logging on to your account through the My Account section. 

Subscribe to our eZine

Receive our monthly newsletter with news and other content relevant to the Irish nursing and midwifery professions.