Careers in Nursing and Midwifery

Where to study to become a nurse or midwife?

You can study to be a nurse or midwife at one of the 13 Irish Higher Education Institutes (HEIs) which offer Nursing and Midwifery Degree Programmes. The HEIs provide programmes in:

  • General nursing.
  • Children’s and general nursing (integrated).
  • Intellectual disability nursing.
  • Midwifery.
  • Psychiatric nursing.

All of the programmes are at Level 8 Honours Bachelor Degree. On successful completion you will receive the academic award Bachelor of Science (BSc) and will be eligible to apply to register with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI). Please click here to see a list of all of the colleges and their places. Please note that these numbers may change for the 2020 intake as the Department of Health has increased places available to a number of programmes in healthcare. The exact number or programme location is not known as of 11 September 2020.

It is illegal to practise as a nurse or a midwife in Ireland if you are not on the Register of Nurses and Midwives which is maintained by NMBI. If an Irish nurse or midwife goes to work abroad, he or she will also have to register with what is called the 'competent authority'. In Ireland, the competent authority is NMBI.

Subscribe to our eZine

Receive our monthly newsletter with news and other content relevant to the Irish nursing and midwifery professions.